The Big Debate

For a long time now, there has been a lot of worry and claim that vaccinations can lead to autism.  Some have even brought up the question of whether or not vaccinations can lead to food allergies as well.  I have written about this in the past expressing my own concerns.  I absolutely want to know the truth, if the truth exists (which, one day I believe it will.)  But for now, I have developed my own opinion about how to handle the dilemma of whether or not to vaccinate.

A friend of mine posted this article from CNN on his Facebook page.  You may have read or heard about it already.  Dr. Andrew Wakefield conducted a study in Britain that involved patients with autism and the link to vaccination, particularly the MMR vaccination.  The results of his study were spread all over the media and caused panic to many parents.  Consequently, a very large number of children were not vaccinated when they normally should have been.  This greatly lowered herd immunity and has led to a loss of the lives of many children.  To make matters worse, it appears that his study was falsified.  You can read more about that in the above link to CNN.

My motive for writing this article is not to support whether or not vaccinations lead to things such as autism or food allergies.  We truly do not have enough evidence to support either way.  After reading this article, and learning the effects of NOT using vaccinations, I have come to realize the true importance of them.  I have had my own struggle with whether or not to use vaccinations after reading many claims of the links to autism and food allergies.  My oldest son has life threatening food allergies, and I have a strong desire to know what has caused it.  However, the effects of this bogus study have proven what can happen if vaccinations were stopped.  We have solid proof that these diseases in which vaccinations prevent have horrible consequences, including death.  We do not have enough evidence that vaccinations lead to autism or food allergies.  And even if we did, would we choose a path that could lead to death?

I truly believe that we will someday have an answer.  It is a shame that all the money that was spent on this falsified study was not used on a true one.  But, thank you Dr. Wakefield for clearing up my clouded thoughts on whether or not to vaccinate!

1 Comment

Filed under research for the cause

One response to “The Big Debate

  1. Traci

    I have a food allergic child who has never been vaccinated. I actually had never heard of vaccines leading to food allergies. But I do have to say, when it came time to vaccinate my son I did not have a peace about it. I did not yet know my son had food allergies, allergies that include but are not limited to, eggs, dairy, soy, nuts. He also is allergic to dogs and cats. For me the realization that he had all of these food allergies was like a confirmation to me that I had made the right decision not to vaccinate him as his system is not normal to begin with. Both my husband and I have allergies of some sort in our family history so the allergist said that predisposed our son to having these allergies. We carry an epipen as I am sure you also have to carry. For me, I believe the problems with vaccines and bad reactions in children relate to their immune systems state before the vaccines are introduced. For example, my son has an egg allergy, some vaccines are incubated in egg shells. Hence there could be a potential of a serious reaction to the vaccine because it contains the very thing my son is allergic to. Once the injection is in his system there is no taking it out. Do I really want to introduce something so dangerous to my sons system when it cannot be undone?…. My son is now 3 years old. Has never had a single vaccine and still has food allergies. He may grow out of them in the next few years, I pray, but until then I am going to be extremely cautious about what is put into his body. I am currently researching what vaccines if any I should get him. There is so much information out there to support both sides. I am not necessarily against vaccines, I vaccinated my older daughter up until she had a mild but worsening reaction to her last two vaccines. As parents we can only do the best we can and pray to God we have made the right choices. Here is a website from a Chiropractor I know that has done a lot of research on vaccines, you might find interesting. I trust him and know him well, but still feeling conflicted with what to do in this area. Too much is at stake…. Hope this finds you well!
    Traci

    Here is the link : http://www.family-wellness.com/vaccines-part-3/#more-1851

    If you look through the website you can find the other parts of the blog, it is a 4 part blog.

Leave a Reply

