Biocides???

Have any of you heard of this? Apparently nanosilver is used in many kinds of products as some kind of anti-bacterial/anti-fungal agent. It is a biocide. For instance, it might be added into toys, cutting boards, or sippy-cups to aid in killing bacteria and fungus.

I came across this information while I was reading the site The Campaign For Safe Cosmetics. While the idea of protecting us from harmful bacteria and such seems like a great idea, there is also a lot of belief that using things like the nano-silver is preventing our immune systems form developing properly.

This reminds me of the “too clean” theory, and how many people believe this is what has led to the burst of food allergies. I always thought the “too clean” theory was a bunch of hoo ha, because I mainly thought it was linked to how I kept house, for instance. Don’t get me wrong, I do not live in dirty or trashy home, but I am not what I would consider to be obsessed with cleanliness… I have nothing but boys in my house for crying out loud…LOL!

My point is that there are obviously other factors in our daily lives that many of us do not even realize exsist. These things are affecting our health, and we don’t even know it! A lot of concerning statements have been in the news recently, like the danger of BPA. So, it is not surprising to me that there are other things as well.

I guess I am upset about all of this because I have been in the dark, so to speak. I think we take it for granted that we are being looked out for on these kinds of issues. It has become apparent that we have to look out for ourselves.

Some things can be avoided- eating unprocessed food, eating organic food, avoiding the use of other products with too many chemicals. But, some things are not so easy avoid. The use of the nano-chemicals is used in many things we would never think about. There is also know way of knowing it is present. The ONLY way to protect ourselves is to speak out!

biocide

1 Comment

Filed under research for a cure, research for the cause

One response to “Biocides???

  1. I think I’m now an established skeptic where plastics are concerned – I’d say “chemicals,” but there’s this chemist who’d hunt me down and make me admit that yes, I’m made of chemicals, I manufacture chemicals and consume them. Biochemistry is like that.

    (ducking the chemist)

    Plastics, on the other hand…well, it invariably has shareholders somewhere, and a marketing campaign. I’m a fan of the EWG, but gosh, wouldn’t it be nice if they were wrong once in a while, and that industry actually *was* making choices that are good for us?

Leave a Reply

